Buy Local
About the Chamber
Area Information
Member Directory
Become a Member
Industrial Development Authority
Members Only
Photo courtesy of Georgia Capitol Museum, Office of Secretary of State

Each year the Chamber presents its John Adam Treutlen Award to an Outstanding Citizen for exemplary service to the Effingham County community. Named in honor of Georgia's first governor, John Adam Treutlen, the award is presented at the Chamber's Annual Meeting.


2016Clarence Morgan
2015Gussie Nease
2014Lamar Allen
 2013 Ms. Connie Burns *
2012 Charlie Heidt
2011 Beth Epling
2010 Dollie B. Fulghum
2009 Edna Q. Morgan
2008 Frank Arnsdorff*
2007 Herbert Jones Jr.
2006 D. Guerry Burns
2005 Mrs. Josephine W. Shearouse
2004 Warren R. Ratchford
2003 Mrs. Ruth Lee
2002 Terrell Webb
2001 Mr. and Mrs. Lonnie Alderman
2000 Dr. J. Michael Moore
1999 No Award Presented
1998 E. Al DeWitt*
1997 George G. Allen
1996 Dr. Charles T. Brown III*
1995 Lawton M. Nease Jr.
1994 C. Edward Helmey
1993 Mrs. Annabel Usher
1992 Dr. Ray D. Webb
1991 Arthur M. Gignilliat
1990 George A. Chance Jr.
1989 Mrs. Mary Douglass and
Mrs. Enzell Middleton
1988 Dr. Willie G. Todd
1987 Richard C. Kessler
1986 Hilton Kight













* Award given posthumously

1986 John Adam Treutlen
Pioneer Award Recipients

John Boyd
J. Malcom Marchman
Jack E. Ramsey Sr.

Home    About Our Area    Contact Us    Industrial Development Authority    The Chamber    Become a Member